User panel stuff on forum
  114 posts on 4 pages  First page1234Last page
Advanced Configuration
2006-10-16, 19:54
Member
87 posts

Registered:
Oct 2006
Zalon wrote:
eizid wrote:
any idea why my rockets and grenades look laggy when they're flying and bouncing?

maxfps 125 is way too low to use with the independent physics shit, if you can't have stable 500+ don't bother, else try with cl_nolerp 1 that seems to help if you got "low" fps, below 200.

I'd like to see anyone who could notice a difference past 150fps.



Regards,
PaRadiZer
2006-10-16, 23:31
Member
355 posts

Registered:
Jun 2006
PaRadiZer wrote:
Zalon wrote:
eizid wrote:
any idea why my rockets and grenades look laggy when they're flying and bouncing?

maxfps 125 is way too low to use with the independent physics shit, if you can't have stable 500+ don't bother, else try with cl_nolerp 1 that seems to help if you got "low" fps, below 200.

I'd like to see anyone who could notice a difference past 150fps.



Regards,
PaRadiZer

If you gave me two monitors with 175fps and 150fps while playing a game for a minute, I could tell you which is higher but not the exact values.
2006-10-17, 14:42
Member
87 posts

Registered:
Oct 2006
PlaZmaZ wrote:
PaRadiZer wrote:
Zalon wrote:

maxfps 125 is way too low to use with the independent physics shit, if you can't have stable 500+ don't bother, else try with cl_nolerp 1 that seems to help if you got "low" fps, below 200.

I'd like to see anyone who could notice a difference past 150fps.



Regards,
PaRadiZer

If you gave me two monitors with 175fps and 150fps while playing a game for a minute, I could tell you which is higher but not the exact values.

vsynched? I'm not convinced. Considering the minuscule difference between 110-140 (which is the highest I've tried)
I doubt that. If your're not using vsynch, then I might grant you that you might notice a difference in the tearing,
but not actual framerate.



Regards,
PaRadiZer
2006-10-18, 13:58
News Writer
646 posts

Registered:
Mar 2006
Interesting thread here. Props to def for excellent contribution to the discussion and to the client setup; and especially props for his premature claims of "100% correctness" that always make me chuckle

Just pulling ya leg, slovak :>
2006-10-19, 19:29
Member
151 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
ive been playing around with all the fps stuff. I have the follwing spec machine:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 FX-60 Dual Core CPU 2x2.6GHz
XFX Geforce 7800 GTX 512mb
2GB Corsair DDR SD-RAM
Asus A8N32-SLI DELUXE Mobo

2x Dell 17" CRT monitors, running ezquake at 640x480 @ 85Hz
Logitech G5 @ 1000Hz

Commandline is:

+set s_khz 44 -sndspeed 44150 -mem 512 -minmem 128 -zone 3000 -width 640 -height 480 -bpp 32 -conwidth 320 -conheight 240 -democache 32768 -autostretch -m_mwhook -noforcemspd -particles 5000 -detailtrails -ruleset smackdown -norjscripts +set vid_displayfrequency 85 +set cl_independentPhysics 1 +set cl_confirmquit 0

In cfg i have :

cl_physfps 76, cl_maxfps 1000, cl_nolerp 0, pushlatency 0, vid_vsync 0





now before you say anything, I can timedemo my setup at over 1700 fps 99% of the time, so can run higher resolutions if I like. I run 640x480 so I can use 85Hz refresh that is the highest my monitors support (they're old) but like the smoothness.

I dont seem to be able to stop the warping/ghosting/tearing at all. It is better with nolerp 0 and stuff but although Im getting high fps it feels and looks nasty.
Also my machine should be able to get far more fps than i do. On dm3 in ya looking to rl window, I get 196 fps, but in the lifts I get 1200? Why the massive range? Aveerage fps is about 400-500 fps.

how can I get a lovely high fps like I should be able to, and how do I make it feels smooth again with independant physics?

Cheers.
bd
2006-10-21, 17:09
Member
87 posts

Registered:
Oct 2006
The only way to stop tearing and have *perfectly* smooth motion is to use vsynch or manually edit everything to work at exactly the same FPS and refresh rate. From what I've tested using *half* cl_physfps of refresh (and nolerp) comes pretty close to vsynch smoothness, fps jitter just barely noticeble in some situations.

Are you talking about show_fps, timedemo or timerefresh? I have a measily old P3 1GHz and GeForce4MX. On DM3 I average around 250fps (show_fps), topping out at 400, in 800x600@132Hz.



Regards,
PaRadiZer
2006-10-21, 21:53
Member
151 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
no im using ezquake hud and its fps display.

ive got it to run fairly smooth, averaging around 800fps but topping over 2200 fps near walls.

so for my 85hz refresh ur saying i should sey physfps to 43? and that will be better? cant see it myself but ill have a go.
Wont i be recieving less info from servers tho?



EDIT: Tried the settings you say above and it feels terrible.

If i run a localhost game with serverinfor maxfps close to my average fps it feels great. So i'm thinking that it has something to do with the 77fps cap and maybe my refresh rate and the fact that im rendering very high.

Dunno but ill keep plugging away at trying to solve it but for now its fine.

Maybe the EZquake devs should look at improving the independant physics code for future releases? Especially if they want this game to carry on for another few years and compete with newer games, you'll need high fps running clientside at least, and very smoothly.
bd
2006-10-23, 20:44
Member
87 posts

Registered:
Oct 2006
bandog wrote:
no im using ezquake hud and its fps display.

ive got it to run fairly smooth, averaging around 800fps but topping over 2200 fps near walls.

so for my 85hz refresh ur saying i should sey physfps to 43? and that will be better? cant see it myself but ill have a go.
Wont i be recieving less info from servers tho?

Indeed, I wouldn't go that low.


bandog wrote:
EDIT: Tried the settings you say above and it feels terrible.

If i run a localhost game with serverinfor maxfps close to my average fps it feels great. So i'm thinking that it has something to do with the 77fps cap and maybe my refresh rate and the fact that im rendering very high.

To be exact, my setup was like this:

vid_displayfrequency 132
cl_physfps 66
cl_maxfps 500
pushlatency 0
cl_nolerp 0
vid_vsynch 0
cl_tripplebuffering 1

Like I mentioned it was very close (but not exact) to vsynch smoothness, but the
66fps isn't too good. It might have been my psyche playing up on me but I tested
on servers for a few hours and "something" with the movements just didn't feel
right at times. If I'd had a better monitor I would have gone for 154/77, maybe
144/72 as a minimum.


Regards,
PaRadiZer
2006-10-24, 03:19
Member
85 posts

Registered:
May 2006
Use increments of 77fps. physfps 77. cl_nolerp 0. why hasnt someone explained this already.
2006-10-24, 08:24
Member
12 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
I run

vid_displayfreq 154
cl_physfps 0 "should be set to this"
cl_maxfps 312 "little more than doubble the refresh rate to take care of small fps drops"
2006-10-28, 12:59
Member
26 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
MoosemaN wrote:
I run

vid_displayfreq 154
cl_physfps 0 "should be set to this"
cl_maxfps 312 "little more than doubble the refresh rate to take care of small fps drops"

Some servers still have maxfps set to 150 or something and having cl_physfps set to 0 makes you use that. I remember occasions when i have played some duels on such a server (with cl_physfps 0) before a 4on4 game. Then going over to a properly setup server with maxfps 77 to play the 4on4 and wondering the whole game why it feels so jerky and not smooth. It is of course because i had the 150 serverfps (which i didnt think of then) in the duels i played before and got used to that. Then when i played the 4on4 i had the proper 77 physfps and compared to 150 it felt awful.

Its of course no biggy because most servers are properly setup. But thats why i changed cl_physfps to 77 instead of 0
2006-10-28, 13:32
Member
151 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Mursu wrote:
Its of course no biggy because most servers are properly setup. But thats why i changed cl_physfps to 77 instead of 0

thats why i keep mine at 77, want to keep a consistant feel wherever i play.
bd
2006-10-28, 14:17
Member
637 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
rofl bandog every time I see your avatar I laugh so much
http://slip.4.pl/ - unblocking myspace facebook firewall
2006-10-28, 18:34
Member
151 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
cheers mate )
bd
2006-10-30, 11:16
Member
518 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
there is something wrong with the _lost msg


When you are walking around with rl or lg it reports " lost rl/lg @ diedloc ", and when your walking around with anything else then rl and lg it just says " lost @ dieddloc ". And if you died with rl or lg and left a pack, you can only report it if your still dead, after you respawned you can only report lost @ diedloc instead of lost rl/lg @ diedloc.


is this because of the restrictions of ruleset or can it simply be fixed?
2006-10-30, 17:33
Member
151 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
read ur qizmo readme file, has a list of all macros for team messages. Some of them are remembered 5 seconds after death. Maybe one for the weapons han be too (dunno without looking myself).
bd
2006-10-30, 21:34
Member
518 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
ill asked ezquake devolopers, it cannot be done its blocked, only way is having 2 binds :<
2006-11-17, 15:10
Member
6 posts

Registered:
Nov 2006
Great job def.

I have only one issue. I play on a LCD display @ 60hz and, until now, i couldn't reach any settings with vsync off that give me no flickering.
I tried a lot of values around 60 for cl_maxfps. The question: Is it impossible to get no ghosting/flickering with LCD monitor vsync OFF?

--
dvlsh
2006-11-17, 19:37
Member
151 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
running the game at 60 fps with v_sync on will look terrible and flickery anyway. Also, running higher fps up to 77 wouldn't be correct either as you cannot physically refresh at that rate.

you have to choose the settings which give you the best results, even if they are still crap. Unfortunately chasing a smooth moving game on an lcd monitor is like trying to polish a turd.
bd
2006-11-17, 20:36
Member
6 posts

Registered:
Nov 2006
I see your point. But the question is: why do i still see tearing screen when I use cl_maxfps compatible with refresh rate? Does it happen with CRT monitors?
2006-11-18, 00:17
Member
192 posts

Registered:
Mar 2006
Having the same fps like the monitors refresh rate does NOT mean that those 2 things are synced. Thats where vsync enters the game.
2006-11-18, 01:09
Member
6 posts

Registered:
Nov 2006
Just bought a samsung 17" CRT Monitor. I am using the def's package and i still get tearing. Is that ok?
2006-11-18, 11:24
Member
6 posts

Registered:
Nov 2006
now it's perfect.

100hz @ 100fps+
2006-11-18, 13:58
Member
151 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
Defcon 5 wrote:
Having the same fps like the monitors refresh rate does NOT mean that those 2 things are synced. Thats where vsync enters the game.

no, but having a refresh rate that at least matches the 77fps needed for qw does help bigtime. They're not synched unless v_synch is on but they can work together.

the measurement of Hz is a frequency, and its measured using seconds as a timescale. 60Hz = 60 wavelengths a second.

You cant get a smooth qw game on less than 77 fps really, and trying to render higher than 77 frames per second when your refresh is only 60 times a second isnt gonna work well.

75Hz+ means that your monitor can keep up with the frames as they are rendered (although some frames are missed at 75Hz).

that was my point.
bd
2006-11-18, 13:59
Member
151 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
dvlsh wrote:
now it's perfect.

100hz @ 100fps+

there u go, a higher refresh rate sorts it.
bd
2006-11-18, 23:26
Member
284 posts

Registered:
Oct 2006
bandog wrote:
Defcon 5 wrote:
Having the same fps like the monitors refresh rate does NOT mean that those 2 things are synced. Thats where vsync enters the game.

no, but having a refresh rate that at least matches the 77fps needed for qw does help bigtime. They're not synched unless v_synch is on but they can work together.

the measurement of Hz is a frequency, and its measured using seconds as a timescale. 60Hz = 60 wavelengths a second.

You cant get a smooth qw game on less than 77 fps really, and trying to render higher than 77 frames per second when your refresh is only 60 times a second isnt gonna work well.

75Hz+ means that your monitor can keep up with the frames as they are rendered (although some frames are missed at 75Hz).

that was my point.

Well even though they are synced, they aren't really synced nicely, but in a really crappy fashion which means that your responsive framerate actually drops to about half of your actual vsync fps. If they were really synced that would be great, but actually now they are kinda playing I'm ready I'm not ready, ok I'm ready etc. So the actual tactile response from the game is pretty bad at 77 vsync. If you put server maxfps to let's say 350, cl_maxfps to 350 and physfps to 350 and vsync on, it's not gonna feel all that bad, but you are still losing responsiveness on your physical input
2006-11-19, 17:04
Member
151 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
I was vague in my post im sorry, I wasnt building a case for using v_sync, because its shit and I never use it, ur right with ur response.

My point was that you need to have a monitor capable of refreshing as quick as qw can display the frames to its minimum requirements (77fps) in order to get a smoother game.
But either way we are actually agreeing
bd
2006-11-20, 13:26
Member
637 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
ban that dog for having the grooviest avatar on the planet I say!
http://slip.4.pl/ - unblocking myspace facebook firewall
2007-01-29, 19:04
Member
2259 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
this owns!! some ppl that directly wanna have a pro setup can get this if they dont wanna have fquake, but mostly ppl go with fquake
2007-01-29, 23:42
Member
27 posts

Registered:
Jan 2007
dude i love this one Thx
  114 posts on 4 pages  First page1234Last page