User panel stuff on forum
  18 posts on 1 page  1
Graphics Discussion
2012-01-24, 08:37
Member
52 posts

Registered:
Feb 2008
I am using the settings that are described in this post.....

I know you were able to take bolt.mdl and color it black to turn the old one black.. "old shaft"






http://www.quakeworld.nu/forum/viewtopic.php?id=2137





the first picture is what im referring to..



I would like to know if it is possible to make that BLACK
2012-01-24, 08:44
Member
303 posts

Registered:
Jun 2007
create black image of 1x1 pixel in any graphic software, paint will work, and name it bolt2_0 , save as .png or .jpg or .tga in qw/textures/models
2012-01-24, 09:14
Member
52 posts

Registered:
Feb 2008
lets make sure im not retarded
1.open ms paint
2.click new
3. resize
4. pixels
5. horizontal 1
6. vertical 1
7. fill/black
8. save as bolt2_0.png
9. put in qw/textures/models
10. go to quake load map get lg///// test


if all of that is correct then it does not work for me ..
2012-01-24, 11:28
News Writer
833 posts

Registered:
Jan 2006
Will that work for /ruleset smackdown also ?
2012-01-24, 13:18
Member
791 posts

Registered:
Feb 2006
first pic in that thread shows particle shaft, you can't change the color for that afaik.
2012-01-24, 19:20
Member
52 posts

Registered:
Feb 2008
Is it possible to change it??

Im sure some how, some way you can change the particle color???

Im no gfx guy by no means I'm just asking..

Can it be done??

And that question above is a good one.. Is the original shaft mdl allowed to be black in smackdown ruleset.

If so, would the new particle/ black shaft be allowed ??
2012-01-24, 19:27
Member
61 posts

Registered:
Jul 2007
Rex wrote:
lets make sure im not retarded
1.open ms paint
2.click new
3. resize
4. pixels
5. horizontal 1
6. vertical 1
7. fill/black
8. save as bolt2_0.png
9. put in qw/textures/models
10. go to quake load map get lg///// test


if all of that is correct then it does not work for me ..

i think its correct , try type gl_lightning 0 because there are two types of shafts - model one and second particle one
2012-01-25, 15:43
Member
303 posts

Registered:
Jun 2007
I wrote about how to get black .mdl shaft

Afaik, custom bolt2_0.png is NOT a cheat.

But particle shaft probably is.

overall, it's wise to use model shaft instead of particle one, as model is what is used in comps. So you'll have chance to get used to it playing with bots, pub games or pickups. QW shaft obscure view a lot when you are hit by it and getting used to it is important skill.
2017-02-06, 12:44
Member
346 posts

Registered:
Sep 2009
didn't worked...

how do you change the color ?
(QW Nickname: AL.Kernell)
2017-02-06, 19:11
Member
458 posts

Registered:
Mar 2008
Isn't there even a command for this in the newest ezQuake? /lg_color 0 0 0
2017-02-06, 20:53
Member
370 posts

Registered:
Mar 2008
Rikoll wrote:
Isn't there even a command for this in the newest ezQuake? /lg_color 0 0 0


tried that actually and doesn't work.
2017-02-06, 21:07
Administrator
161 posts

Registered:
Sep 2015
d4rin wrote:
Rikoll wrote:
Isn't there even a command for this in the newest ezQuake? /lg_color 0 0 0


tried that actually and doesn't work.


It was changed after QuakeCon to include grenades, rockets & nails as well.

/gl_custom_lg_color
/gl_custom_rocket_color
/gl_custom_spike_color
/gl_custom_grenade_color

also /gl_custom_rocket_fullbright (etc)
2017-02-07, 00:55
Member
370 posts

Registered:
Mar 2008
meag wrote:
d4rin wrote:
Rikoll wrote:
Isn't there even a command for this in the newest ezQuake? /lg_color 0 0 0


tried that actually and doesn't work.


It was changed after QuakeCon to include grenades, rockets & nails as well.

/gl_custom_lg_color
/gl_custom_rocket_color
/gl_custom_spike_color
/gl_custom_grenade_color

also /gl_custom_rocket_fullbright (etc)


I only see a /gl_custom_lg_color with ezquake 3.0.1 and it doesn't seem to change it.
2017-02-07, 09:40
Administrator
161 posts

Registered:
Sep 2015
d4rin wrote:
I only see a /gl_custom_lg_color with ezquake 3.0.1 and it doesn't seem to change it.


you also need "/gl_custom_lg_color_enabled 1" in 3.0.1 (just leave the colour cvar blank in 3.1)
2017-02-07, 12:50
Member
136 posts

Registered:
Feb 2012
By the way the custom color cvars don't work for me if I already have a replacement png in textures folder.
(Which makes sense, but probably has to be mentioned somewhere.)
“If I wanted you to understand it, I would have explained it better.” (c) Johan Cruyff
2017-02-07, 18:54
Administrator
1016 posts

Registered:
Apr 2006
Drake wrote:
By the way the custom color cvars don't work for me if I already have a replacement png in textures folder.
(Which makes sense, but probably has to be mentioned somewhere.)

On which version? ...
2017-02-08, 09:34
Member
136 posts

Registered:
Feb 2012
dimman wrote:
Drake wrote:
By the way the custom color cvars don't work for me if I already have a replacement png in textures folder.
(Which makes sense, but probably has to be mentioned somewhere.)

On which version? ...


pfff... nevermind, my bad, I got confused because of cl_r2g. Works fine.
“If I wanted you to understand it, I would have explained it better.” (c) Johan Cruyff
2017-06-10, 09:10
Member
9 posts

Registered:
Aug 2016
there is no such commands in ezQuake v3.0.1:

/gl_custom_rocket_color
/gl_custom_spike_color
/gl_custom_grenade_color

wtf?


upd: sorry, i figured out that these commands are enabled only in version 3.1
p.s. when it will be released? )
anti human anti life
  18 posts on 1 page  1